smarTT - National ICT Plan 2014-2018

In 2012/2013, the Ministry of Science and Technology completed the development of smarTT - the National ICT Plan 2014-2018. smarTT was developed following extensive national and Government consultations and drew urgent attention to the need to make more intelligent use of the country’s financial, human, and other resources towards the creation of lasting prosperity.

With a significant emphasis on National Broadband Development, smarTT is the first Phase of a larger National ICT roadmap which is described within the Plan itself. The roadmap consists of two additional five-year periods (2018-2022 and 2022-2026). The end goal is for the ICT sector to become a major contributor to National GDP. The core of smarTT features five (5) thematic areas as follows:

  • Innovation and Human Capital Development
  • Access and Digital Inclusion
  • e-Business and ICT Sector Development
  • Infrastructure Development, and
  • e-Government